

Know Your Rights

Expungements (REDEEM Act)

On October 1, 2023, SB 37 will improve access to expungements by:

- Reducing wait times for most crimes already eligible for expungement (see other side).
- Remove Fines and Fees for Cannabis Expungement.
- Make Malicious Destruction of Property Eligible for Expungement.
- Prevent Outstanding Court Fines and Fees From Barring Expungement.

Why Expungements Matter to Marylanders

There are over 1,100 collateral consequences of having a criminal record, including reduced access to employment, education, housing, occupational licensing and public assistance.



An <u>expunged criminal case</u> is permanently removed from Maryland court and police records and is no longer visible to the public.

WHEN IS MY FELONY CONVICTION ELIGIBLE FOR EXPUNGEMENT?

- 3 year wait period for Controlled Dangerous Substance (CDS) Intent to Distribute Marijuana
- 7 year wait period for CDS - Intent to Distribute (not marijuana) or Third Degree Burglary
- 10 year wait period for Second Degree Burglary or Felony Theft
- 15 year wait period for anything classified as a domestically related crime under Criminal Law 6-233.



WHEN IS MY MISDEMEANOR CONVICTION ELIGIBLE?

- 5 year wait period for most misdemeanors
- 7 year wait period for
 Second Degree Assault or
 Common Law Battery

Circumstances that may prevent an otherwise eligible conviction from being expunged:

- A Pending Criminal Case
- Failure to Pay Restitution
- A Violation of Probation Finding

The Maryland Office of the Public Defender is the largest criminal defense firm in the State of Maryland. We are statewide advocates for securing justice, protecting civil rights, and preserving liberty. We have been the voice of the voiceless across Maryland since 1972. Our work spans criminal, juvenile, parental defense, and involuntary commitment proceedings.

Scan for More Resources

