Know Your Rights Odor of Cannabis Law

On July 1, 2023, HB1071 will go into effect. This law will help ensure that the legalization of cannabis will not contribute to targeting innocent motorists and pedestrians by prohibiting the following:

When investigating a DUI police may only search areas of a vehicle that are: readily accessible to the driver; OR reasonably likely to contain evidence relevant to the condition of the driver.



Police are not permitted to stop or search a person or vehicle based solely on one or more of the following:
(1) odor of cannabis,
(2) possession or suspicion of possession of personal amount of cannabis, or
(3) cash in proximity to cannabis.

Fines for Smoking
Cannabis in Public are
\$50 for a first offense
and \$150 for a second
or subsequent offense.

Scan for More Resources





Scan for More Resources



PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS!

If you believe your rights have been violated you may file a complaint with the police department and a civilian review board, even if you are not charged with any criminal offenses.

Evidence discovered or obtained in violation of this law, including evidence discovered or obtained with consent, is **not admissible in a trial, hearing, or any other proceeding**

If the police are searching you or your belongings and ask if you have anything illegal: Always remain silent.

During any stop or search, if the police ask to search you or your belongings:

Say "I do not consent."

The Maryland Office of the Public Defender is the largest criminal defense firm in the State of Maryland. We are statewide advocates for securing justice, protecting civil rights, and preserving liberty. We have been the voice of the voiceless across Maryland since 1972. Our work spans criminal, juvenile, parental defense, and involuntary commitment proceedings.