

Know Your Rights Cannabis Legalization

On July 1, 2023, possession and use of small amounts of cannabis will be legal for individuals over the age of 21 years old.

Adults over the age of 21 can legally possess up to the following amounts:

- up to 1.5 ounces cannabis (flower) or
- up to 12 grams concentrated cannabis or
- cannabis products containing up to 750 milligrams of delta-9-TCH or
- up to 2 cannabis plants (plants are limited by RESIDENCE regardless of the number of adults who live in the household)

Civil Offense Possession Amounts:

Subject to a a fine up to \$250

- More than 1.5 ounces , but less than 2.5 ounces cannabis
- More than 12 grams, but less than 20 grams concentrated cannabis
- Cannabis products containing more than 750 mg, but less than 1250 strength delta-9-THC





You CANNOT sell cannabis unless you are a licensed cannabis business.

You CAN purchase cannabis even if you are not a Maryland resident

Drivers CANNOT smoke in a vehicle on any highway, including: any roadway surfaces and shoulders. Even if the vehicle is parked or stopped. You CAN Share a personal use amount of cannabis with friends over the age of 21 as long as there is no cash or remuneration exchanged.

You CANNOT drive impaired by cannabis

You CANNOT smoke cannabis in public.

You CAN smoke inside your home or residence with the approval of the property owner

The Maryland Office of the Public Defender is the largest criminal defense firm in the State of Maryland. We are statewide advocates for securing justice, protecting civil rights, and preserving liberty. We have been the voice of the voiceless across Maryland since 1972. Our work spans criminal, juvenile, parental defense, and involuntary commitment proceedings.



Maryland Office of the Public Defender www.opd.state.md.us